How It Works
Once you pass our DMV licensed traffic school course, your ticket will be kept confidential and no points will appear on your driving record. It's the only way of preventing your auto insurance company from seeing your ticket and increasing your auto insurance rate! Here's what you need to do to get rid of your ticket.
- You must pay the court all fees associated with your ticket and their traffic school administration fee.
- You must be eligible to attend traffic school (see who is eligible below).
Traffic School - 3 Easy Steps
- Sign up for our online traffic school course
- Finish our fast, easy to read course
- Pass the final test consisting of 25 multiple choice questions
Court and DMV Processing
Once you pass the final test you're done! We immediately email you a Certificate of Completion for your records and electronically send it to the court and DMV on your behalf within 3 business days for free. If you need faster service, you can add our Express Same Business Day Processing Upgrade for an additional $7.95.
Note: Be certain you're eligible to attend traffic school and have paid all court fees and fines due or the court may not accept the Completion Certificate we send them.
Sign Up Now - Just $9.95
Why Choose Us?
Who Can Take Traffic School?
The courtesy notice you receive from the court by mail should indicate if you’re eligible for traffic school. If you haven’t received your court notice within three weeks of receiving your ticket, or are unsure if you’re eligible, call the telephone number on your ticket.
Who can take traffic school?
According to Vehicle Code section 42005 and California Rules of Court rule 4.104, you are generally eligible to attend traffic school if the following criteria are met.
- You have a valid driver’s license
- Your ticket is for an infraction that is a moving violation
- The violation(s) on your ticket must be an eligible one point Vehicle Code infraction. See the list of one point violations here.
- You have not attended traffic school for an eligible violation that occurred within the last 18 months
- You cannot go to traffic school for any:
- Speeding tickets where the alleged speed was more than 25 mph over the speed limit.
- Equipment or non-moving violations. For more information regarding eligibility, see California Rule of Court Rule 4.104.
- Violation that has a mandatory Court appearance
- Alcohol or drug related violations
- Citation/ticket that has defaulted to a failure to appear unless the failure to appear charge has been adjudicated and any fine or civil assessment imposed has been paid.
The California Vehicle Code (see section VC42005 on this state code page ) states that drivers with a commercial driver's license can only attend traffic school if they were not driving a commercial vehicle. Upon completion, the record of conviction will not be held confidential, but the conviction will not add a point count to the DMV record.
Drivers with a commercial driver's license are responsible for contacting the DMV Driver Safety Unit at (916) 657-6452 after completion of traffic school, to insure that the DMV does not assess the point against their record.
Get Rid Of My Ticket Now!
Why should I take traffic school?
The cost of taking traffic school is small compared to the hundreds of dollars in increased auto insurance premiums a ticket could cost you over the three years it says on your driving record. According to a 2012 analysis of over 490,000 policy quotes conducted by Insurance.com, getting a single ticket can boost an average policyholder’s auto insurance premium by as much as 22 percent!
Other reasons for taking traffic school include keeping your driving record clean for employment reasons, and not adding another point to your record when you already have some existing violations.
How long does online traffic school take?
On average, it takes our students between 3-5 hours to complete the online course. Some people finish it much much quicker and some take longer. Since the course is self paced, how fast you complete the course is completely under your control. Finish it all in one sitting or over multiple sessions.
Will points show on my driving record after I complete traffic school?
According to California Vehicle Code 1808.7, Section 1803.5, California courts must report traffic safety violations as convictions. If you’re eligible and complete a licensed traffic school course, however, your violation will be kept confidential and no violation points will show on your driving record.
How Much Does Traffic School Cost?
The cost of traffic school includes a state mandated administration fee of $52.00 paid to the court, plus a separate fee paid to the independent traffic school. The fee paid to the independent traffic school can range from $9.95 to more than $50.00.
You might wonder, why the price difference? Especially since all licensed traffic schools give you the same court accepted Completion Certificate that keeps that point off your driving record. The answer? Some charge extra for the jokes they add to their course (approx. $29.99), while other traditional classroom schools charge more to pay an instructor to stand in front of you and teach all day ($35+).
To Read More Frequently Asked Questions Click Here
"It was my first time taking traffic school and your customer service person was very patient and helpful. They answered all of my questions and helped me understand what I needed to do. Thank you for making what I thought would be a terrible experience nice!"
- Janice Choi, Sacramento, CA
Keep The Points Off Your Record
Follow these steps to ensure your traffic ticket and the point associated with it aren’t added to your driving record:
- Make certain you’re approved to take traffic school by the court
- Pay all fines and fees for your ticket and the traffic school administration fee to the court. If you don’t pay these in full, the court will not accept your traffic school completion certificate.
- Register and pay for a California DMV Licensed traffic school course
- Take and pass the traffic school course
- Have your Completion Certificate sent to the court by your traffic school due date
Note: Pay The Court
You must pay the court all fees and fines due on your traffic ticket, including the court traffic school administration fee. If you fail to do so, the court will not accept the Completion Certificate we send them.
Three Factors Impacting Your Insurance Rate
Under Prop. 103, approved by California voters in 1988, auto insurers must use three factors in setting rates:
● Driving record
● Number of miles driven annually
● Years of driving experience
Of these, your driving record has the biggest influence on your insurance rate. It’s therefore important to keep your driving record clean because insurance companies check your driving record whenever you apply for car insurance, and every time you renew your policy. You should also remember that a single point on your driving record can trigger insurance premium increases that last for the three years the point stays on your driving record.
Keep your driving record clean and your insurance rates in check by completing our California DMV licensed online traffic school. We make it as fast as legally allowable to finish and give you exclusive tools to help you easily pass or your money back guaranteed.